Be aware and ski with care! Here is the skier safety code as provided by the National Ski Patrol:
- Always stay in control, and be able to stop or avoid other people or objects.
- People ahead of you have the right of way. It is your responsibility to avoid them.
- You must not stop where you obstruct a trail, or are not visible from above.
- Whenever starting downhill or merging into a trail, look uphill and yield to others.
- Always use devices to help prevent runaway equipment.
- Observe all posted signs and warnings. Keep off closed trails and out of closed areas.
- Prior to using any lift, you must have the knowledge and ability to load, ride and unload safely.
- Keep moving away from the exit ramp at the top of lifts so others can get off the chair.
- Don’t block the lift maze until your entire group is ready to enter.
- Snowboarders, be careful where you stop. You may think people can see you from above, but when you sit on the trail, sometimes you are hidden.
- Hikers and bikers should yield to horses.
- Hikers have the right of way to bike traffic, although most hikers and trail runners will yield to bikers since it is easier to get out of the way.
- Uphill bike traffic has the right away.
- Downhill bike traffic should be careful even on downhill – specific trails. Be ready to stop!
Frostbite is a condition in which the body tissues freeze. It happens when the skin is bare or gets wet in sub-freezing temperatures. The low temperatures cause ice crystals to form in your skin. Frostbite occurs most frequently in your hands, feet, nose and ears. A few signs of frostbite are pain in small areas, tingling in those areas, your skin gets hard and white, you start to itch on the areas that are painful, and the skin starts to peel or get blisters.
Preventing frostbite is mainly a matter of keeping yourself warm and keeping skin covered when it is really cold. If you are going out in cold weather, you need to protect your hands and feet with appropriate gloves, socks, and boots. Weatherproof or water-resistant protection is a good idea. If you think that you have frostbite, you should get into a sheltered place and change into warm, dry clothes. Do not rub the area that is frostbitten.
If you are heading for the mountains, make sure you’re prepared for the altitude change. Altitude sickness occurs most commonly at elevations above 8,000 feet but can certainly happen above 6,000 feet. Dehydration and overexertion are the major contributing factors. It is critical that a person stays well hydrated. An early morning headache that doesn’t go away is one fairly sure sign. Low levels of energy, insomnia, shortness of breath, nausea and loss of appetite are all symptoms that can, either alone, or in combination indicate altitude sickness. Drinking more water, descending, and reducing your level of activity are the standard remedies once you feel sick.
When you are heading for the slopes, sunscreen isn’t always the first thing on your mind. Be aware that the sun is six times stronger at 10,000 feet than it is at sea level because there’s less atmosphere for the sun to fight through. Use a sunscreen with at least a 15 SPF (Sun Protection Factor), reapply frequently, wear sunglasses or goggles, a hat, and watch children so they don’t burn. On really sunny days the sun can also reflect off the snow so be aware.
Utah Liquor Laws
Utah Liquor Laws – Getting a drink in Utah just got easier. Following decades of baffling visitors with its quirky liquor laws, Utah Legislators passed sweeping changes to the State’s often criticized liquor laws, including the elimination of the State’s private club system and membership requirement, a move that will simply add to Park City’s ever-growing attributes as a world-class convention and tourism destination. Park City makes it even easier with more alcoholic beverage businesses per capita than any other place in the state. So whether you’re looking for a local brew or just a glass of wine, you won’t be left high and dry.
Below is some specific information about getting a drink during your vacation.
- Beer – You can purchase 3.2% beer at the grocery and convenience stores. 3.2% beer is also served in restaurants that only have beer licenses. Full-strength beer is for sale at state liquor stores (see addresses below) and is sold in private clubs and restaurants with liquor licenses.
- Wine – Wine is served in restaurants and bars and can be purchased at the state liquor stores.
- Liquor – You can buy liquor at state liquor stores and purchase it by the drink in most restaurants (if you order food) and all bars (without ordering food).
- State Liquor Store Locations in Park City
- Remember: Liquor stores are closed on Sundays, state & federal holidays.
- Snow Creek Plaza – This is the largest liquor store in Park City with one of the best wine selections in Utah. Hours are 10 a.m. – 10 p.m. Mon – Sat. 615-8538
- 460 Swede Alley
Hours are 11 a.m. – 10 p.m. Mon – Sat.
- Kimball Plaza at Kimball Junction
Hours are 11 a.m. – 7 p.m. Mon – Sat.
- Brown Baggin / Unfinished Wine
- Subject to the discretion of the establishment, patrons may pay a corkage fee allowing them to bring in their own bottled wine to licensed restaurants and private clubs for on-premise consumption. Patrons may carry out unfinished wine from a restaurant or private club provided that the bottle has been re-corked.
- Basic Utah Liquor Licenses
- Full liquor service is available in licensed restaurants, banquet and catering facilities, airport lounges, and private clubs. Patrons may order liquor by the drink, wine by the glass or bottle, and beer in bottles, cans and on draft. Packaged liquor, wine, and heavy beer (over 3.2%) are available in State Liquor Stores.
- In restaurants with full service liquor licenses, liquor, wine and heavy beer (over 3.2%) may be served from noon to midnight. Beer (3.2%) is available from 10:00 am to 1:00 am. Patrons must be dining in the restaurant in order to be served an alcoholic beverage. Patrons may be served at their table or in a waiting area.
- In restaurants with limited service liquor licenses, wine, and heavy beer (over 3.2%) may be served from noon to midnight. Beer (3.2%) is available from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. Limited restaurant licenses may not sell distilled spirits.